My Latest Baby Quilt & the Story Behind It

100_8707I love to quilt, and have made and given away dozens of quilts over the years since I started about 25-30 years ago. Most of the quilts I have made are baby quilts. I have also made quite a few bed quilts (which I have kept for my family), and some lap quilts for the elderly.

The baby quilts have mostly gone as gifts, except for the ones I made for my own babies and a few in my girls’ hope chests. One of my favorite friends, Debbie, gave me a gift a few years ago of a fabulous fabric collection from Keepsake Quilting Co. A rich selection of 1930s reproduction fabrics — they were bright, and included many juvenile prints (little animals doing quaint things). The quilt you see pictured is the first one I have made using the full array of the fabrics from this gift.

Now, even though I have quilted all those years, until this year I never got the courage to try free-motion quilting. The quilt pictured above is the first one I created using that technique – and I loved the technique. I will never hesitate to use it again.

This quilt will be going to a special little girl who will enter this world in about two weeks, Lord willing. I hope she and her family enjoy the bright colors, whimsical fabrics, and soft flannel backing.

One thought on “My Latest Baby Quilt & the Story Behind It

Leave a Reply

