Freezer Tips from a Humble Cook, by Susan Karsten

I am an at-home-maker, mom of three, wife of one :), married for 23 years.

Today, I want to share some of my top tips on Freezer-related issues. All family cooks know the dreaded realization: “I forgot to get something out of the freezer!” If you’re like me, when this happens you resort to canned tuna and make a casserole, or perhaps you run to the store to buy meat, defeating the purpose of having meat on hand in the freezer.

Tip #1

Get three things out of the freezer at once. Put one on the counter to thaw, put the other two in the refrigerator. Then on day two, get one of the ones in the fridge out and thaw it the rest of the way. Day three, the third item in the fridge will be thawed by this time. This gives at least 3 days of no “thaw panic”.

Tip #2 (little-known secret)

Cooking Frozen Chicken. I can’t believe that I just learned this last fall and I’ve been cooking for my family every day for over 20 years. You are going to love this!  If you, by 1:00 p.m., put the contents of a bag of frozen boneless chicken in a crockpot on high with 1/2 cup of water, by 6:00, you will have completely cooked, shredded chicken. I know, this is hard to believe, but it’s true.

Cooking Frozen Pork Chops.  I have tried this with 6 frozen-hard-as-a-rock pork chops (add the 1/2 C. water and about 1/3 cup bbq sc.) and it works, too. You end up with succulent, fall-off-the-bone tender chops.

Cooking Frozen Chuck Roast.  Believe it or not, I also tried it with chuck roast! Yes, it worked fine. Season as you would a pot roast, add the 1/2 C. water, cook it on high.

If anyone has any questions, or doubts 🙂 feel free to comment. Hope you are blessed by this information – I know I was.

Leave a Reply

