Thrifty Thursdays: Vintage Guest Towels become Valances

After my recent kitchen update (paint and a few new pieces of wall decor) I got to the point of window treatments. Having successfully purchased an awesome window treatment for my dining room for …. $2.58 :), I was ditzing around about what to do about the kitchen window.103_5593

Bam! Rummaging around in my fabric stash (file cabinets) I came across a box. A $2 box of vintage linens from a garage sale. Let’s just say I struck gold. The gold guest towels, linen I am sure, have white embrodery along one edge. (If you’re of a certain age, you can picture these). Just the right color. My orangey-gold formica counters have never looked better.

103_5549

Ironed them, sewed the four towels together with a slightly overlapped seam, created a casing, and voila! Enjoy! God is good.

103_5547

Leave a Reply

